Bewafa se Wafa

This was such a sad film. I remember watching it as a child, I would have been about 7 or 8 years old and the one thing that stayed with me was that Juhi Chawla had such a hard life.

It’s probably all someone that old could take away. I remember crying buckets in half the songs because she was treated so badly. I’m sure my partnership with melodrama began with these 90s flicks. Waqt (1965) and Maine Pyar Kiya (1989) are probably more to blame then the rest, but Bewafa se Wafa comes close.

Juhi Chawla is excellent as the self sacrificing wife who convinces her loving husband to remarry. Vivek Mushraan plays said husband very well, I despise him for choosing Nagma every time I watched this movie. And Nagma really does make you hate her. Her transformation from bosom friend to husband stealing witch is perfect.

 

YouTube has the whole deal here if anyone’s keen to give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

