Minute Mentions

I have been very tardy and for that I offer a new kind of post – a small number of mention-worthy occurrences in my melodramatic world.

Madhubala is taking great shape, the writers are in full form with an all souls bared episode yesterday. Yes you read that right, RK and Madhu are in fact a couple. Not just the chaar-pheron waali shaadi couple, but the lovey dovey kind with declarations (or in RK’s case begrudgingly admitted affection) of love all round. Sparks are flying and with Madhu’s biological dad (he who wanted to kill her) all set to storm the screen tomorrow, we can only imagine what the new year will bring.

Ranvi and his brotherly affection has been bringing daily tears to my eyes. Veera has grown to the age of five and she is just as precocious and equally as enlightening as her brother. A must watch for people of all ages! Untitled-14

Dabangg 2 is repeatedly on all my music channels, Kareena keeps asking me to stick her picture onto my heart with Fervicol. I have no damn idea what it is, but if this song hasn’t given it enough promotion I don’t know what will. It’s damn catchy and for that I must congratulate the lyricist. They do not however, get any points for creativity only in the most cliches used category.

Speaking of catchy songs, Sigdi from Khiladi 786 and Heer from Jab Tak Hai Jaan are up high on my list. For entirely different reasons but equally stuck in my head.

A whole surge of Barun Sobti fans have started watching Baat Hamari Pakki Hai. This was one of my favourite shows when it aired and I started rewatching it (thank you YouTube) when Ankita Sharma joined the cast of Amrit Manthan. It is hilarious reading the Barun fan comments on my favourite episodes of Baat Hamari. If you haven’t seen it, give it a shot, you’ll see a whole different Mr Sobti and my favourite Ankita is fantastic as always.

Ankita’s Amrit Manthan hasn’t lowered the drama one ounce, its upped the ante by at least 50. We’ve had a confession, a jail sentence, promises of revenge and promises of love and security. It is on my must-watch list of this week.

In the news of tv stars in films – Barun’s Main aur Mr Right which was filmed this year has a tentative release of April next year. Sushant Singh Rajput (the Jhalak favourite from last year and our original Manav of Pavitra Rishta) has bagged a Yash Raj film that was also offered to a young Kapoor and a young Khan – well done! His Kai Po Che with Abhishek Kapoor releases next year too and he’s bagged a role in Rajkumar Hirani’s Peekay.

Leave a Reply

