Binging on books

Binge
noun
1.a period or bout, usually brief, of excessive indulgence, as in eating, drinking alcoholic beverages, etc.; spree.

2013 began with action, adventure, sword-fights and much romance – a friend returned about 20 of my prized reads and I fell upon them like a woman starved of thirst in the Sahara. Well, almost.

Beginning with Lisa Kleypas’s Hathaway’s series and moving onto her Friday Harbour books – two of which I ordered after reading an excerpt in the back of the Hathaway’s final novel. I settled for Tamora Peirce’s Song of the Lioness series while the Friday Harbour was sent out to me, reading about Alanna is a sure fire way to find motivation for any girl.

Read pile to the right - what's left of books that were returned to me on the left

Read pile to the right – what’s left of books that were returned to me on the left

By the time I finished with Alanna, my two Friday Harbour books had arrived. As I got cracking on the first one, I realized Kieran Scott’s trilogy could be mine too – so I re read her first novel and ordered the second two.

After finishing with the second two books in the He’s So/She’s So books I fell upon Judy Blume classics about Margaret and

Deenie. Margaret always leaves me feeling like I’m standing on the cusp of too many things so of course Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall was read until about 5am the following morning, just for a little closure.

Phew! In between all this reading and waiting, I managed to squeeze in re-reading Rats Saw God by the brilliant creator/writer of Veronica Mars – Rob Thomas. A superamazing book that was given close competition by the vastly different The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz.

As of 31 January 2013 I have read 21 books. Not a bad beginning to the year and if we count the two Holmes novels I squeezed in over the past few days, our total is 23. I shall aim to keep track of my reading habits (on some level) this year and see if I can get to 100 books in 2013.

Meanwhile, reviews to follow of everything devoured in January and attempts to keep a much closer blog-tab on everything that is read in February. Being my final month before classes kick in, I’ll try and get much of my book thirst quenched this month!

Leave a Reply

