Evenings with Mr Holmes

I have taken to reading my Sherlock Holmes omnibus from the beginning. One story a night, whether from a novel or a short piece. My selection is chronological, allowing a well tempered pace to the way in which Sir Arthur Conan Doyle would have produced the stories.

There is something soothing about solving a mystery before bed, a real sense of accomplishment washes over me and I can go to bed feeling victorious over whichever villain has been conquered.

A Study in Scarlet was the first tale some nights ago. I had forgotten how cleverly the mysteries are resolved and explained – feeling much like Watson I bumbled my way through the puzzle and was both surprised and delighted at how easily Sherlock explained the sequence of events.

I have now traversed through The Hounds of Baskerville and am some chapters into The Valley of Fear.
The Hounds I was quite familiar with, however I have stepped into The Valley with my expectation as I cannot remember who the villains are and am waiting to be surprised.

Leave a Reply

