The Messenger

Sunday purchases.

Sunday purchases.

 

Like most people predispositioned to be happy, I avoid tales which could sadden me. The weather, day and time has to be right, basically I have to be in the mood for it.

These books were purchased on a whim known as Sundays. The Odyssey as told by Fables I have been looking for over the years. The Messenger was recommended to me by the lovely Alesha from Good Reading, my successor, my heir and good friend. The Name of the Rose I have heard of and the blurb was alluring.

The Messenger I have put off reading since 2011. Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief left me feeling bittersweet. It was a great read, as most people will tell you, but that doesn’t mean I was looking forward to being pushed through the ringer. The Messenger however, was a whole other kettle of fish.

I love that expression, and yes, I look for opportunities to use it in.

Ed is your average idea of a 19 year old living in a small country town, not too far from Sydney. He drives a taxi because it’s easy, simple. He reads because he appreciates greatness from afar. He is happy being average, laid back and uninvolved. Until the day he stops a bank robber and his life finds changes occurring.

The first card in his mailbox is the Ace of Diamonds. The names present a list of people who need a message delivered. What the message is, Ed must work out as he brings himself into contact with each person. Four cards, 12 people and one messenger. The story is phenomenal.

The best thing about this book is Ed. He is real, believable and so placid that you want things to happen to him, for him to take part in activity – and as he did, I was the first cheering him on. The story is layered and each card and its characters take a layer from Ed’s simple life and put it under the microscope. None of it is preachy, just mildly related. But the story truly makes you feel and surprisingly, I was evaluating my life along with Ed at the end.

4stars because it is hard to find a perfect book and this comes very, very close.

Leave a Reply

